Wednesday, February 8, 2012

The Treaty of Waitangi

In Room 19, we have been learning about the Treaty of Waitangi. I would like to tell you a little bit about The Treaty of Waitangi.

The Treaty of Waitangi was written as an agreement between the Maori people and Queen Victoria. This Treaty was signed at the Waitangi Bay of Islands, on the 6th of February 1840.

Because Queen Victoria lived in England, William Hobson, the Governor, signed it for her. The Treaty was signed by 34 chiefs on behalf of the Maori people.

They wrote the Treaty to solve problems new Zealand was facing. At that time it included wars between tribes using muskets, fights amongst sailors and Europeans, shortage of land for new settlers, and fears that other countries would take over.

Because of the Treaty, it gave Queen Victoria the right to rule New Zealand. She could also buy land that Maori wanted to sell. But the Maori would check if the things that the Queen was doing, was reasonable.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Note: Only a member of this blog may post a comment.